skip to content

Natural Sciences Tripos


Natural Sciences is the framework through which all sciences at Cambridge are taught. There are 16 departments that make up the structure of the course, as seen below.

The course is split into three Parts (years): 

Part IA (first year)

Students study three science subjects and one maths option. Part IA subject options. 

Part IB (second year)

Students study three subjects of their choice. Part IB subject options

Part II (third year)

Students can either specialize into one subject, OR study a broad science course. Part II subject options. 

Part III (optional fourth year) 

Some subjects have an optional fourth year. Students studying this are awarded and M.Sci. degree. (Only students who have taken an appropriate Part II course may take these). Part III subject choices.